The clerk can authorize an 8-hour traffic violator school if: the defendant is a licensed driver, the offense is an infraction pertaining to the California Vehicle Code rules of the road and equipment violations, and the violation is reportable to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
You may attend traffic violator school only if:
- The citation was for a moving violation;
- You have not taken a traffic school course within the past 18 months;
- You do not have more than 3 infractions on your driving record;
- You do not have a misdemeanor on your driving record;
- You did not exceed the speed limit by more than 25 mph.
Notice: If you are eligible and decide not to attend traffic school, your automobile insurance may be adversely affected.
You are ineligible if any of the following apply:
- The violation occurred in a commercial vehicle;
- The violation is related to alcohol or drug use or possession;
- The violation is for speeding more than 25 miles over a speed limit;
- The violation carries more than one point count with the Department of Motor Vehicles;
- You have failed to appear by the scheduled appearance date, and a civil assessment has been added and not paid;
- The violation occurred within 18 months after the date of a previous violation in which you previously elected to attend traffic school.
Payment and Fees
If you meet the requirements and wish to attend Traffic School, you will be required to pay a court fee of $52.00, in addition to the amount of bail/fine indicated on your courtesy notice. Checks may be made payable to Trinity Superior Court.
Request for Traffic School
If you are eligible and wish to attend traffic violator school, sign the bottom of the courtesy notice and check the appropriate box indicating that you want to attend traffic violator school. Then pay the non-refundable traffic school fee of $52.00 plus bail by the due date either in person or by mail to the Superior Court.
The Court will then continue your case for 60 days and direct you to complete traffic school by a specified date. You may attend any traffic school approved by the California DMV. The school you select will charge an additional fee. If you complete traffic school and pay the Traffic School Fee within the time allowed by the Court, your citation will be reported to DMV as a confidential conviction. With the exception of a court, the DMV will not disclose a confidential conviction to any third party, including your insurance company. No violation point count will be assessed if the conviction is confidential.
Failure to Complete Traffic School
If you fail to attend Court ordered Traffic School, return the Certification of Completion within 60 days of order or payment, or decide not to attend, the fee will be converted to bail, and bail will be forfeited. No further proceedings will be held, and the violation will show on your driving record. Your automobile insurance may be adversely affected.